Sisters

TJ and I made the trip to Central MN last weekend to see his family. I have to confess, I love my in-laws. They are amazing. They listen, the house is quiet, the farm is beautiful, and they love me. All things that make for a nice relaxing visit. Before last weekend I hadn’t seen them since New Year’s, because, let’s be honest, I was chained to a desk in the library for most of 2012 so far. Needless to say, I was really excited to see everyone, especially TJ’s 94 year old grandmother, who I heard had been asking about me every time he went to visit. When I saw her on Saturday I was promptly reprimanded for not visiting. Grandma Bert does not disappoint.

One of the best things about TJ’s family is that he has two sisters. Let me just say that for most of my life my greatest wish was to have a sister. I kid you not when I say that every other woman in my entire family has a sister. All of my cousins, my mother, my grandmothers. The only person who doesn’t have a sister is my dad, and that is only because he is an only child. But, even he kind of has a sister because his closest cousin is my “aunt” Julie, and she is an only child as well. So, yeah, I am the only person without a sister.

I used to think that if I had a sister at least there would be one person who “got” me. One person who would constantly be my best friend. Someone who would understand all of my family stuff because they were part of it too. Every guy I dated before TJ had brothers. It seemed like I would never have that wish fulfilled.

And then, I met TJ’s family. He has an older sister and a younger sister. Michelle, the older one, is great. She is the school librarian at the parochial school in Foley, MN. She bakes, she sews, and did I mention, she bakes? She makes this amazing coffee cake. It is a recipe from their great-aunt. Here is a link to TJ’s post: http://cookingwithakidfromgodsplayground.wordpress.com/2012/04/25/r-i-p-auntie-theresia/  She also makes homemade caramels at Christmas.  Yeah, she is the big sister everyone wants to have.

His younger sister is Sara.  Sara is a year older than I am.  She farms with my in-laws and will one day take over both her parents’ farm, as well as her grandmother’s farm.  At the moment, she concentrates mostly on beef cattle, while my father-in-law has dairy cattle.  We have a lot in common.  The best part is, we can talk.  We know what is going on with our family, but she also remembers what is going on with my family.  She cares about what is going on with TJ and I.  She wants to hear about it and doesn’t judge when she doesn’t agree.

I have waited a long time to have a sister, and I lucked out and got two.  It is one of those things where there are three answers you will get from God:

1. Yes.

2. Not yet.

3. I have something better planned for you.

I am lucky that mine was a little of all three.

2 thoughts on “Sisters

Leave a comment